Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I am new to MRC Advange control for layout. Normally the loco has address #3, I can change it to another address to facilitate the operation of the loco and have changed OK. However, I did the same thing today, but after changing, both the address #3 and the new address didn't work. So how can I reset the address of loco to #3 or change it to another address?

Thanks

·
Registered
12,285 Posts
Presuming you mean MRC Advance... or MRC Advance2, because if it's the former, you have a very old controller.

Have you ever programmed that loco before? Is it new or used? What kind of decoder is in it? Are you using a programming track? Are you able to program other CVs on that loco? What number are you trying to set the address to? Setting CV8 to a value of 8 will normally reset everything to factory defaults, including the address. All else being equal, though, I would suspect a bad decoder,

Reactions: Irkutsker

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Presuming you mean MRC Advance... or MRC Advance2, because if it's the former, you have a very old controller.

Have you ever programmed that loco before? Is it new or used? What kind of decoder is in it? Are you using a programming track? Are you able to program other CVs on that loco? What number are you trying to set the address to? Setting CV8 to a value of 8 will normally reset everything to factory defaults, including the address. All else being equal, though, I would suspect a bad decoder,