Model Train Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a locomotive over 50 years old that does not run smoothly. I took it apart, and accidentally disconnected the wire that goes from the headlight back to the motor. Do I solder the wire to the post that the arrow points to in the attached photo? What else do I need to do to get this unit running again? I'm a newbie, so details are appreciated. The locomotive is from an old family collection I'm trying to get up and running again. Thanks for any help & suggestions. (Don't worry, I'm repainting the rails - "Rust" is too orange looking.)

Attachments

·
Registered
517 Posts
Yes, but it also can go on or under the bolt in the pix. Make sure it does not touch the wire on the other spring. As long as you have the power truck off. I would do some checking on the circuit. Usually, the power circuit on these comes from the metal wheels on the opposite trunk. Usually that wire goes to the light clip. A wire is soldered on the tip of the bulb. That wire connects under the bolt. That gives the voltage across the light and the motor. This is a series circuit. The problem is you have three connections that can cause problems. You can also create two parallel circuits. The first would come from the opposite truck to the appropriate brush clip. This appears to be what you have here. The light circuit Is completely separate from the motor operation. In that case there should be two wires from the bulb assembly. One from the bulb and one from the clip. These wires would connect to either brush clip. This Reduces the motor dependent joints to two. Fewer is always better.
I want you the verify the power truck circuit because normally the bolt is where the rear truck connects. You can verify that fairly easily.

·
Registered
118 Posts