Model Train Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone explain to me excatly what a reverse loop is, I think i understand the basic concept, but how do you eliminate the short?
Do I need some kind of device to supply the power separately? any info anyone can offer is great!
I am new to this train scene, I have always wanted a model train (had one as a child, old dc) so, just pretend that i wont understand any lingo you old train guys have, so keep it simple. Thanks.
Trev

·
Registered
99 Posts
The easiest way to wire a reverse loop is with an Atlas controller or twin when using dc. With dcc, they have auto-detectors that do it for you.

Basically, you're reversing polarity to the rest of the track while your train is on the loop, that way as it comes off, the polarity of the rest of the track matches. Reverse loops must be fully insulated of the rest of the track, both in dc and dcc.

There are other ways of doing this than the Atlas parts, but they're by far the easiest for us beginners :laugh:

Help?!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
so do i have to have a controller? right now, i have an insulated loop, but i supplied the power from my NCE power cab controller, this seems to work ok, will i damage anything?:confused:
By the way, i really wish i could read the chinese,japanonese, or whatever it is that you responded in fghgjdh8, the rest of you, thanks for your replies, one thing i dont get smokey, i thought that dcc loco's did the polarity switching, i guess thats not the case, huh?

·
Registered
99 Posts
Disregard that crap- we've been having issues with spam bots or some crap... :stroke:

'Bout your reverse loop, if you're running dcc, then isolating the loop and connecting it to the right connector on the main unit should do it, or you may need an add-on auto-reverse looper deal.