Model Train Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm very much a rookie at model railroading. My 8 year old son has been hooked on model railroading since I can remember and this year, for Christmas I decided to upgrade his Bachmann EZ track to Kato Unitrack and also increase the size of the layout.

We're running the Kato "HV1 Outer" oval track along with their "HM1 Inner" track and a switch connecting the two. These are boxed sets offered by Kato, and intended to be run together. We're using the Kato Power Pack. This layout is much larger than our older Bachmann EZ track layout and talking to some folks at the local hobby shop, they suggested I should add additional feeders in each loop to better distribute power to the far ends of the loop where trains have been loosing power.

I need some oversight on my wiring though. As mentioned, I'm a rookie and also not an electrician.

I bought and will use two additional "UniJoiner" power feeds for the far and of the track. My plan is to then wire those UniJoiners, along with the ones on the near side of the track, back to a "Terminal Bus Bar" like the one pictured in the Amazon link below. I'll also tie into that Bus Bar the Kato Power pack which will of course be then plugged into a wall outlet. On the Bus bar, all blue wires will be on one side and white on the other. The two bars on the bus are NOT connected, with full insulation between the two.

Here are my questions for those willing to entertain them...
1. Is this a safe set up? i.e. won't electrocute anyone or catch fire

2. If someone were to touch the metal parts on the Bus Bar, or the exposed wires going into them, would they get shocked? How bad?

3. Any other suggestions or considerations I should take into account?

Thanks and I appreciate anyone will to help me out!

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07NX6QF7W/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

·
Registered
890 Posts