Model Train Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am using a Digitrax DN166PS Decoder for my scratch built locomotive. I bought some LED’s from a website called evandesigns.com. Each LED came with a resistor leading into a large rectifier with a capacitor connected to its output in parallel with the LED. All of these components take up too much space in an incredibly small locomotive.
It is my understanding that decoder function outputs are DC. If so, would it be possible to remove the rectifier and just use the resistor? If I do this, what should I do with the capacitor?
Thank you for all of your time and help. I am new at this whole thing.
Eric

·
Registered
1,011 Posts
I'm a little confused but maybe this is the park. I bought a tsunami 2 pnp decoder. It has several 12v dc outputs for lights. With an led and resistor it worked. The led also worked without the resistor for like 5 seconds and then burned out. Lesson learned. So it would be easiest if you know the voltage out on the decoder, have a known led in hand ... Then you can calculate a good resistor value and wire it all up. Another way is to guess ... pick a large resistor then work down until it seems about right. But this may not work well since you might destroy all the LEDs or resistors you have on hand. (I got that the pnp had 12v for lights to allow for incandescents...)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3