Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,617 Posts
Are you talking about the horseshoe clip? There really is no way; you need to bend it slightly to get it off... If it breaks, you can just replace it with a modern e-clip... I posted the size on here somewhere, let me look...

If you break the horseshoe clip that holds the truck to the frame it can be replaced with a 3/16 inch e-clip, available at most hardware stores...

·
Admin
44,011 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, nice to know I'm not totally stupid, I couldn't see how to get it off easily. They aren't spring steel like I'm used to.

I guess you can tell that I'm new to this, my grandson is really interested in trains, so I'm buying some stuff and putting together a platform. Of course, when you buy stuff that's 40-50 years old, you have to fix some of it as well. :)

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,876 Posts
How do you remove the c-clip on trucks without bending it? Is there some "secret recipe" or tool? My standard c-clip pliers don't seem to work well.

I get them off with a screwdriver. Just give it a little twist while exerting pressure with another screwdriver on the open end.

Do they make a tool for it?

·
Registered
2,617 Posts
B&M, aren't they 3/16th?
That is what my post says :)

Do they make
a tool for it?
You may be able to use a set of snap-ring pliers to get the horeshoe clips off, but IIRC the pinch is usually too tight to get them in there... They work great when reinstalling them though...

·
16,666 Posts
Just out of curiousity, what's the difference between an e-clip and a c-clip? A photo example, maybe ??

(I suspect that I have seen both, but just don't know the naming convention.)

Thanks much,

TJ

·
16,666 Posts
Thanks, guys, for the pics and the clarifications! Much appreciated.