Model Train Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm new to trains (I had some when I was a child, but I never paid any attention to the specifics). My stepson has a Lionel "O" gauge train with some track that my wife asked me to place around the tree. I put a small section of track together on the floor so I could test it. To my surprise, it worked well. That is, it worked until I hit the reverse button. Then it all went haywire. I believe the problem is in the transformer control for forward and reverse (when I play with the reverse button I can get it to work for a bit but the slightest touch will render the unit inoperative once a gain). I would either like to get a new transformer or bypass the reverse switch. The transformer recommends only using a 3 amp power pack. I believe the power pack is a 77 volt unit. Does anyone have any suggestions?

·
Yard Master & Research
10,693 Posts
Can you describe haywire?
It may be the engine. It has a reverse control. I need info . What is the engine type and number. The transformer is it one unit or two. Model Number?.Try to date it please I work on engines 70 years old.
Some newer models need the red wire connected to the center rail.
Cheer up it didn't burn the carpet.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, there is that bright spot. It might have been a problem if the carpet ended up with scorch marks on it! My wife can be SO picky! As for the details, the engine is a #8633 (those are the only identifying marks on it), the transformer is separate from the power supply, the only thing the transformer says on it is that you should use a 3 amp power pack, and the power pack is a model AC1803000, rated at 77W and 3 Amps.

I'm not sure what else I can tell you. I had it running fine around the track until I hit the reverse button. Then it stopped. When I play with the reverse button, it moves, stops, and moves again.

·
Yard Master & Research
10,693 Posts