Model Train Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just purchased The Explorer set by spectrum that I found at the goodwill for $60. Engine is a New york central Baldwin 2-8-0 w/DCC. I'm new to dcc and I want to know how to add sound. I understand it may require some rewiring and modifying, just don't know where to start. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Goodwill

Funny you mention Goodwill. I was wondering where I could find used ho stuff besides ebay or craigslist. So, I thought maybe I could find some at Goodwill and sure enough the second Goodwill I went to in my town I scored big time. I found 35 pieces of rolling stock the new stuff by Athearn in their original boxes. I took them out to inspect them and they have never been used.:) I paid two dollars a piece for all of them. I also found two three story hotels in their original box's, never opened. So every since I hit Goodwill up every week! Sorry I run DC only. I know nothing of sound or DCC!

·
Registered
6,163 Posts
I am going to wade in here even though I have not got DCC yet.
Been reading alot though. Someone will correct me if I am wrong.
Since your engine already has DCC it might be as easy as unplugging
the decoder in there now and plugging in a decoder w/sound and
mounting the speaker. I do not know which decoder to use.
Sounds like a deal you got and I might have to hit some Goodwills
myself. I like deals.

Welcome to the boards.

·
Registered
6,163 Posts
I hear the speaker can be mounted in the tender on the steamers.
Should be plenty of room there. Just an idea.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It's got the tether. Been studying the wiring diagram it came with and found out it has an 8 pin decoder that controls lights, speed and direction.

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
ok before you all get the new DCC guy any more confused about it I will step in. :p