Model Train Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All
I am a beginner with HO scale. About the sound of trains I often see such as: TSU, ESU, Proto, Pragon .... Does anyone have documents or websites that talk more about these sound brands?

Thanks

·
Registered
2,149 Posts
Not really, unless someone has a vlog or a 'review' website that deals with decoder comparisons. Usually it's a review or comparison about the entire package, i.e., the locomotive as a whole. But most forums have plenty of archived discussions you can search for where installations and decoder characteristics are compared.

The largest suppliers by units sold are ESU LokSound, Soundtraxx, TCS, and MRC. Paragon might rival TCS and MRC for units sold, but I wouldn't bet on it. Those are the sound decoders, whereas Digitrax, TCS, and NCE probably have the majority of the non-sound decoder market...not so sure since I only use sound-equipped locomotives.

·
Registered
2,138 Posts
Keep your budget in mind with sound. Also you might want to try a single unit of two before going all in on sound. When I converted to DVD sound was starting out. I thought it was great and converted several locks to sound. Only to find it anoying to run for long sessions. I like to listen to music in the background and it became competition rather than an excessory. On top of that a 10 pack of NCE non sound decoders went for a few bucks more than a single sound chip at the time. Yes that was years ago but there is still a big price difference.

·
Registered
4,343 Posts
Forewarned about ESU: If you want sounds specific to your locomotive, you need to get ESU's programmer. Currently around $140 - $150.

That depends upon where you purchase.

Most heavy volume ESU dealers will program your selected sound file for free.

I buy from a half a dozen dealers and all of them will program a Loksound decoder.

I've never needed to program my own Loksound decoder.

·
Registered
10,505 Posts