Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I'm a new member, looking for some helpfull advice. Haven't enjoyed the hobbie for over 35 years. Im in a new home that's got an attic with a 8'×15' space available for a train layout. I've been scouring the internet looking for ideas to fit this space. I would love to hear any and all suggestions for my available space. I respect your years of experience in the Hobbie and would love to hear what you would do with this space. Access is from the 15 foot side.

Scale.................HO
Power................DCC
Time period......70-80s

I live in Toronto, Ontario, 🇨🇦. I want to run Canadian National engines and pull freight. Cargo and oil tanks.

Thanks for any suggestions and ideas you many have.

Bailey

·
Registered
4,547 Posts
Hi Bailey. I googled "model railroad layout suggestions in attic" and got a pretty good listing of articles you could read. I have no experience with attic layouts, but there are a lot of them out there. Good luck!

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
Is attic insulated, with heat and air conditioning? Windows at each end?

·
Registered
4,378 Posts
My layout is in the attic. The floor is 26’X20’. The platform is about 1’ from the floor so it is roughly 20’X20’.