Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I am a beginner to model railroading and would like some suggestions. I have started on a small layout and would like to see how I like it before I spend tons of money on it. I think I will buy some atlas trains and rolling stock. If anybody has any Suggestions to me for what and what not to do, it will be much appreciated. Thanks!:)

·
Registered
323 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Starting here is a good idea. Read thru the posts, and ask questions. There are a lot of decisions to be made. How much space do you have, and what would you like your layout to do? It can be fun deciding what to do and seeing it come together. Enjoy.

Paul

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks for the tips. I think that for my first layout I am looking into standard dc. I have a power plug from a life-like train set that I am going to use and will use atlas code 80 snap-track. I don't really want anything to big and fancy, but I would like it to be more realistic. I'm working on a tight budget.

·
Registered
17 Posts
I know what you mean about tight budgets, me too. One thing I would do is save up and invest in a MRC power pack, there are some inexpensive ones (30-40$) ones around and they work much better than the train set packs. I used a 501N golden power pack for 25 years until it finally gave out and am now using a MRC railpower 1370. Atlas makes some fine locos and rolling stock and although they are cheaper and generally less dependable, Bachmann has a great warranty. Good luck and welcome.

Richard

·
Premium Member
16,666 Posts
Railrider,

If your taking fiscal baby steps into this (a wise thing!), I'd suggest buying as much as you can used via train shows, ebay, people on forums, etc. You can get some great deals on locos, cars, etc. that are near new for a fraction of the cost of new.

Good luck!

TJ

·
Registered
21 Posts