Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 141 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, guys! I'm new to hobby but I'm learning very hard. Sometimes it is not easy to find an answer to particular question. Newbie question. :rolleyes:
So.. I opened this thread to ask all turnout-related questions because this is the hardest topic for me.
So far, is it necessary to have turnout decoder? :confused: For example, I have Peco Insulfrog turnout, Peco Side Mounting Turnout Motor and Atlas switch control.

Thank you very much for your help! ;)

·
Registered
466 Posts
is it necessary to have turnout decoder?
If you mean a 'Stationary DCC Decoder' then the answer is no. The decoder is to control the turn-out motor by a DCC command from either the hand controller or a computer interface.
The turn-out motor can be activated by manually operated electrical switches.
Try googling "turnout motor control" for more info.

In addition, it is not even necessary to have a motor on a turn-out. There are a number of different way to 'throw' a turn-out.

As a beginner there is a lot to learn. Be patiently, google, read then ask questions.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for respond!
Actually I do a lot of Google (and also reading) and sometimes it is useless. That's why I'm here. That's why forums exist for. :)
I'm sorry for stupid question, but what is the purpose of 'Stationary DCC Decoder' which is used for turnouts(for example)?

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
The usual way to throw turnouts is to have manual switches at different places around a layout or on a specific control panels,depending on personal modeler's preferences.Having stationary decoders allows modelers using DCC to throw turnouts from their handheld throttles.

·
Registered
466 Posts
Its never a stupid question!

How much do know about DCC? If this is still a mystery then it is hard to describe a decoder. I gave you the short answer assuming that you know what DCC is.