Model Train Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As one who is just starting out with little knowledge of trains, I have abandoned my passenger train idea, after you helped me realize the problems if I were to take that route. I am now thinking about making a N scale layout set in a smallish town New Jersey in the late 1940s or 1950s. I am more interested in having destination points, not an origin. That is, I don't want a coal mine, gravel pit, logging, etc.

I am open to suggestions. My background is in newspapers and healthcare. Other than trains bring in rolls of newsprint, I don't see much there.

The real point of this post is I am looking at The Model Railroader's Guide to Industries Along the Tracks, but there are four books at $20 a pop. I have tried to find out which industries are covered in each book, but Google/Amazon/Goodreads are not helping. Can anyone list or direct me to a list of which industries are covered in each book? That would help me decide which, if any to purchase.

·
Registered
583 Posts
while trying to check into it a bit to see if I could figure out what book has what, didn't come up with it...

but I found this and since you said your open to suggestions...
this is free... and HO and N layout.. DL it and see if it has anything good..

It will ask for your email and that you are signing up... i used a "Junk" email address I have... and it didn't need verification so who says it needs to be a real email...

https://mrr.trains.com/rapid/2019/01/8-great-track-plans-for-small-spaces

also a full list here..
https://mrr.trains.com/rapid

·
Registered
10,505 Posts
Apparently, those books are out of print, because only Volume 4 is listed on the Kalmbach website. There are a couple of used copies of the older, one volume version, which might be useful, as well as smaller books on individual industries.