Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My loving wife just informed me that I have been spending to much time with my trains and not enough with the family. I have just spent quite a few hours trying to get a handle on my new layout and I was wondering how many hours a week do you spend working or playing with your trains? Do you spend more time on your trains in the winter,spring, summer or fall? Frankly, my trains are sometimes easier to deal with than family. :laugh:

·
Registered
76 Posts
Funny you should ask. My fiance and I had a heated arguement about that just today. Im very new to the hobby, bout four months. She bought me a starter set for achieving a very important personal milestone in my life. Since then I have accumulated four more sets, fifteen locos, lots of different rolling stock, and a but-load of track. Since the majority of it was bought used I've spent alot of time cleaning and tinkering. I have'nt started on a lay-out yet but i think that too will require significant amounts of time. Im affraid she created a monster and I blame her! This train hobby is almost like an addiction! I cant get enough. She threatened to put a lock-out on the computer just so i cant get on ebay.

·
Registered
5,163 Posts
I think you guys have raised a serious issue---how to resolve the conflict of having a beloved hobby vs providing adequate time for your family. Although I haven't looked, I'd venture a guess there are numerous used families available on ebay, and not all of them are time- and labor-intensive. Some shopping for a replacement may be in order.