Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a total newbie, but those of you longtime modle RR's, what tools do you know everyone should have that are just starting out?
And for those that have all of the basics what would be cool for advanced folks like yourselves?

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
What I will do is take a picture of each tool that I currently have in my box for modeling.. visual representation is the best.

Dang, reminds me I have most of tools at my somewhere else when I was running my steam engine during Xmas :(

Have to get them back, all my good screwdrivers are in there.

·
Registered
2,617 Posts
Nary an airbrush or Dremel tool in the pile...cheap is good.
That is a nice chunk of tools... I have a knock-off verson of a Dremel, but I suck at using it anyways, so I would probably be better off without it...

LOL, I know I have most of that stuff around my house, but it is all over the place and is definatly not organized... I run from draw to draw trying to find just what I need :eek:

P.S. - Do you go fishing, or was that just a keen idea? ;)

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I don't fish either but I think I will get a tackle box. Now my tools are in a few cardboard boxes and It is a pain digging through trying to find what I need.
I have a dremmel that I hardly ever use. I often forget I even have it. Now I know what to cut my flex track with. :)

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
I don't fish either but I think I will get a tackle box. Now my tools are in a few cardboard boxes and It is a pain digging through trying to find what I need.
I have a dremmel that I hardly ever use. I often forget I even have it. Now I know what to cut my flex track with. :)
Yeah the Dremel with the disk attachment works great.

I have a $30 clone as well :eek:

·
Yard Master & Research
10,758 Posts
Dremel/Black&Decker

The power of a rotary tool. An 1130 Lionel Scout showing some age on the sides.