Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I just joined this group. So glad to have found this.
Years ago I bought a Bachmann Alaska RR set in HO.
It was purely for display as I like to collect Alaska items, having been there on four different vacations.
Now I want to get into running an N scale real layout.
I have found prebuilt N scale layouts on eBay from a highly recommended seller and I want to run Kato Alaska RR passenger cars on that. I want to eventually get some freight cars and run that too.
Question.
Can I use the Bachman HO power pack for the Kato trains?
And, I can use any suggestions or help that you people can give to a total newbie :).
Thanks in advance.
Rich

·
Registered
3,384 Posts
Yes, you can use the Bachmann power pack.

My advice would be to build it yourself so that you learn. A turnkey railroad won't teach you much about model railroading.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Another total newbie question please, can I mix and match different brands of N scale cars in one train?

·
Registered
3,384 Posts
As long as the couplers match.

·
Registered
8,612 Posts
Yes, you can run model cars of any brand in your trains. However,
you must make sure the couplers match what you have. There are
replacement couplers for any cars that you want but have
couplers that don't match.

Don

·
Registered
4,085 Posts
It was purely for display as I like to collect Alaska items, having been there on four different vacations.
I have found prebuilt N scale layouts on eBay from a highly recommended seller and I want to run Kato Alaska RR passenger cars on that. I want to eventually get some freight cars and run that too.
Question.
And, I can use any suggestions or help that you people can give to a total newbie :).
Thanks in advance.
Rich
Rich;