Model Train Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the train world and don't know where to begin. I have a k-line steam locomotive o/o-27 scale that I purchased one year ago. The train jumped the track and the transformer indicated a short (flashing red light). I turned the speed dial off, then cut the power to the transformer and the red light returned to green.

From that point forward however, the locomotive would only travel at full speed. The transformers speed dial had no affect on the engine. The ancillary plug still allowed for slower speeds using the buttons.

The train jumped one more time, and now I can get nothing out of the transformer. There is a green light where the wires plug into the track, but only a flashing red light at the transformer dial. Not even the ancillary power works.

What can I do about this issue? I would think I could 'reset' the transformer some how, but don't know how. Do I need to take it in to a repair shop?

Any feedback is appreciated.

rld

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
How old is the train? Some trains have mechanical devices inside that may get 'stuck' in one position after a something like that, resulting in the 'always on' problem.

Also, take a look at the train's underside to make sure all the contacts and electrical pickups are not out of alignment or damaged.

The transformer should be able to stand up to these issues and continue to work with no problems. Do you have any instructions or a model/make of the transformer?

Do you have any other locos you can test the track/transformer with?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your response.

This is my only train, so testing other items is out of the picture.

It appears to me the train was manufactured in 2005, based on an ink stamp on the bottom of the box. It is a "K-Line K-1306 Pacemaker Steam Freight Set". The transformer is labeled "120 Watt Variable Voltage Transformer: Power Chief 120v"

Thanks.