Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive my ignorance in advance, and talk to me like I'm a 3rd grader because I'm very new to this. :laugh:

The background: I have a lot of Lionel stuff from the 50's that my grandfather bought my dad when he was a boy. I'm getting it all set up and running again. It's all O scale...the locomotives are New York Central diesel's from the mid 1950's. Everything is wired following the extremely high tech directions (total sarcasm...) written on a piece of notebook paper by my father ages ago. :laugh:

The problems: Two specific ones, to be exact.
1.) One of the 022 switch tracks is not working. It moves freely when switched by hand, but will not switch using the remote lever. My transformer has 3 posts on the back...the wiring goes from top post to switch 1, and from switch 1 to switch 2, as outlined by good ol' Dad.

2.) There is a section of track that appears to not be powered at all. Cars move fine across the entire track, then just come to a sudden halt at this particular point. It is right next to a lockon that has good connection with both wires. There are 6 lockons in total across my layout. All are wired clip 1 to the center post, clip 2 to to the bottom post.

I'm hoping there are simple fixes to these that aren't too heavy on the electrical engineering aspects....I'm totally willing to learn but don't know much about how to get this fixed. Thanks ahead of time for any advice you guys might have!

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Welcome aborad!

I'll try #2 first.

The center rail is usually isolated if you want to control a section separately.

Check to see if you have used steel pins to connect the dead section to the rest of the track. Insulated pins are usually black plastic.

The center rail should have paper insulaiton beteween it and the cross tie and the outer rails have none.