Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some time ago I purchased an earlier Athearn Genesis A-B set that have the factory installed Tsunami decoders. Now that I have a layout I am eager to run them, I am still new to DCC so perhaps I am missing something very basic.

The first thing I did was put the A-unit on my programming track and select "program from pgm track" on my NCE throttle. I wanted to find the engine address and and set some of my own volume controls etc. The first two things to display were: Manufacturer = 255 and Decoder ver = 255. The short address appeared as 191. The more I look at the crazier it appeared. So I figured no problem I will do a Factory Reset by selecting CV 8 (which also had a value of 255) to 8. Tried that and it failed, because when I finished and and tried to call up the loco by entering an address of 3 nothing happened. So back to the programming track. The Manufacturer and Decoder still had values of 255 and address was still 191.

Next I tried the Factory Reset by changing CV 30 to 8. Same results... Nothing Changed.

Needless to say I tried all the above steps on the B-unit and the results were the same.

Is there anything else I can try? Are the decoders cooked?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

·
Registered
1,488 Posts
I have one of those that was returning an error code, contacted them and said it was on their end and replaced it. Had to have receipt.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Some time ago I purchased an earlier Athearn Genesis A-B set that have the factory installed Tsunami decoders. Now that I have a layout I am eager to run them, I am still new to DCC so perhaps I am missing something very basic.