Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new at this model train hobby. I am wondering what is the best material ie timber board to buy to set up my HO model train set. What is the best or recommended size to start with especially if you want to allow for expansion later down the track.

·
Registered
3 Posts
The best thing to do is pick up one of many magazines at the hobby shop, Modelrailroader has a book called Form set to Scenery, This is a great starter book as it covers everything relativly easy & fast.
Good luck

·
Registered
29 Posts
Layout Board

tworail said:
1/2 plywood seems to be the happy medium, but I would look for the material called 'homasote' (made of recycled egg cartons) which is far superior, although it would probably need some framing work.

http://www.homasote.com/

Advice from a retiring woodworker: be cautious with homosote. It would be fine for gluing down stuff but it doesn't hold fasteners like screws and nails as well as plywood or wood.

Edward

·
Registered
7 Posts
A think a beginner can't go wrong with a standard piece of 4 X 8 3/4 inch plywood with 4 X 8 piece of styrfoam on top. You can cut it smaller if you don't have space to begin with and you can expand it later on if desired. Also, start without grades to contend with; keep all your track mounted flat on the plywood. The first thing to learn is set-up and reliability of running your train, adding scenery, etc

·
Registered
29 Posts
XavierJ123 said:
A think a beginner can't go wrong with a standard piece of 4 X 8 3/4 inch plywood with 4 X 8 piece of styrfoam on top.

Why the styrofoam?

Edward

·
Registered
7 Posts