Model Train Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I've been modeling in narrow gauge (HOn3 and On30) for quite a few years. After a 4 year break from the hobby and a downsizing in housing, I've got bitten by the bug again.

The problem is that I don't see a lot of interest from the manufactures in the way of new products. Blackstone (HOn3) makes great models, but the release of new models seems to be very slow. Bachmann (ON30) does not seem to be adding to it's product line. I've collected a lot of equipment in these scales, and would like to continue in these scales.

So my questions are:
What do you think the future of narrow gauge is?
If you were starting over, would you model in a more popular scale like HO or N standard gauge?

Thanks for your opinion.

Tim

C

·
0 Posts
Narrow gauge modelers are a dedicated bunch but they have always been a small segment of the hobby. I think Bachmann's On30 line did really well for a while but they may have saturated the market. They made about every locomotive anyone could want as well as freight and passenger cars.

I considered On30 10+years ago but went with standard gauge instead. With NG it's possible to build a whole railroad and operate it just like a real one and that's one of it's draws. Plus, NG trains are shorter, no 100 car trains, so a small layout is more realistic. But I went with SG because of the variety, plus I've always loved the New York Central.

·
Registered
321 Posts
American narrow gauge is a niche market in model railroading. You'll have to shop around to find different products, or kitbash or scratch-build.

I have a little bit of HOn30 but it's just a sideshow layout with kitbashed equipment. I use smaller older-style HO equipment on N-gauge wheelsets and motors. It's freelanced, started as a joke actually.