Model Train Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy, Lost Bob here and I am looking for a push in the right direction and where to start. I am new to model railroading. My kids want to start building a train set. Thinking this might be a great way to spend some time together. But not sure where to start. Thanks for any help.

G

·
HMMMMMMMM, Bob. That is one loaded question. If I were you and just starting out I would look for a model railroad club and take the kids to see their layout(s) when they have an open house. Bear in mind that it may be a lot to take in all at once. At least you and your kids can see what it's all about. When you go there don't be afraid to ask questions. I'm sure the people at the club would be glad to help you out.

Regards,

Gary.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Gary. I have found a club here locally and we are planning to go and see what it is all about. Trying to get a little base knowledge before I go and sound like a complete idiot (isn't hard for me to do). What type or class is best for younger kids? That we can grow into?

·
Registered
544 Posts
My one advice I like to give is to find a book or video that's a beginner's guide to model railroading. Then go through it carefully from front to back. It will answer all your questions plus ones your going to have. It will help you decide on a theme, the proper size for you, and more.

·
Registered
1,383 Posts
Act fast! You did not mention kids ages but I would act fast before the idea fades. Children's attention span is fickle. Get a train set that can be set up on the floor today. Set it up tomorrow. You can do your research while they crash the toy trains. If they are still interested next month you can start building.

G

·