Model Train Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey, I'm new to the whole site and forum thing, but after searching through the forums for some time, have not been able to find a thread that answers my question.

I have sections on my layout where I have laid double track. I added sets of Atlas turnouts on both so my train can interchange lines when it wants to. My question: Is there any way I can bring one set of wire each from two turnouts and wire them into one switch machine? That way when I throw the switch to change track, they both flip without having to throw a second switch? Would it be advisable to wire it through a terminal barrier strip and join the common wires there?

The question is centered around efficiency. Hope it makes sense/

Thanks, JR

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I think I should restate the main question: Is it possible to wire two or more Atlas turnouts into one switch machine?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wiring multiple turnouts to one switch machine

I have sections on my layout where I have laid double track. I added sets of Atlas turnouts on both so my train can interchange lines when it wants to. My question: If I bring one set of wire each from two Atlas turnouts and wire them into one of the provided switch machines, will both work on one switch? Would it be advisable to wire it through a terminal barrier strip and join the common wires there?

The question is centered around efficiency. Hope it makes sense.

Thanks, JR

·
Registered
5,518 Posts
I think what your trying to say is you have 2 turnouts connected into a crossover?
What kind of switch machines are you using?
Standard atlas snap style, dual coil, or tortoise / slow motion machines?
I use all tortoise slow motion machines. They are allot easier to control multiple turnout points with because one machine runs cables to switch all the points at the same time.