Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Good Saturday Morning!

I would so appreciate it if I may please have my Reverse Loop wiring plan reviewed for accuracy by some of you pros! I am new to this. Please see Overview and Details below.
Are the gaps proposed correct: G1-G4? Is the PSX-AR really wired outside of the RL, while the PSX is inside? The DCC is Digitrax DCS-51. (I burnt up the DCS-50 and can't afford to repeat that!). Thank you!!!! -L

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your review, Tom! Unfortunately, I realized I made a drawing error. Please see corrected Overview. On that plan, where would I create the gaps and connect the PSX and PSX-AR? Are the gaps proposed correct: G1-G4? Is the PSX-AR really wired outside of the RL, while the PSX is inside the loop? Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
I think that you have two figure 8's that form your mainline and then 2 separate reversing sections. So in the drawing below, the mainline is red and the reversing sections are yellow and green.

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
If you follow Tom’s plan, you don’t have any reversing between S5 and S4. You can verify this by using your finger to trace around the green highlighted track taking all paths and you’ll see that you are always circulating in the same direction. You can only reverse your direction by taking the blue track.

You can wire the output of the PSX-AR to any point you like in the blue section of track. It makes the most sense to choose a location near its middle. You don’t need the PSX-1 since the Digitrax command station already has its own internal short circuit protection.

·
Registered
878 Posts
Lizzie, I gotta admit, when I saw your first sketch, I could NOT get my head around it!! :ROFLMAO:
I'm sure glad Mark and Tom are here to dope it out! I have noticed that, with all that, you cannot
reverse direction if you are travelling clockwise. :sick:

·
Registered
878 Posts